Winners announced of “Changing the Face” – an architecture competition for the re-design of Pushkinsky cinema, Moscow

Moscow, June 8, 2011 – DuPont together with Union of Architects of Russia, YEM, RIBA and Architizer are pleased to announce the winners of  “Changing the Face – Moscow 2011,” a competition for ideas to redesign the façade of the famous Pushkinsky Cinema, located in Pushkin Square, Moscow.

The three winning proposals combine imaginative aesthetic thinking with technical innovation to create solutions that give new life to an ageing icon. The winning proposals were selected from 512 entries submitted by 1002 architects from 62 different countries. An exhibition of the winning designs will take place in the Central House of Architects in Moscow from June 8 to 19, 2011. The winners of the 2011 edition of “Changing the Face“ architectural competition are:

- First prize (10 000 Euros): “Frozen in Time” by Juan Andres Diaz Parra (from Colombia) DuPont material used: DuPont™ Corian® hi-tech surface

- Second prize (5000 euros): “Moving Light Palace” by Adrian Reinbroth, Franziska Boettcher and Jenny Grossman (from Germany) DuPont materials used: DuPont™ SentryGlas® interlayers for structural laminated glass and DuPont™ Teflon® surface protection.

- Third prize (3000 Euros):“The Pushkinsky Jewel” by Joseph Sung (from South Korea) DuPont materials used: DuPont™ SentryGlas® interlayers for structural laminated glass.

The architects who participated were asked to imagine a new facade for the Pushkinsky cinema, incorporating modern architectural solutions into the original location. The only condition set by the organisers was the use of at least one DuPont material, from DuPont™ Corian® high-tech surface for exterior cladding to DuPont™ SentryGlas® and DuPont™ SentryGlas® Expressions™ interlayers for structural and decorative laminated glass, and from DuPont™ Tyvek® advanced membranes for the building envelope to DuPont™ Alesta® architectural coatings and DuPont™ Teflon® architectural fabrics and surface protection for decorative coatings.

Each project was evaluated by an international Jury including: Andrey V. Bokov, Head of the Union Of Russian Architects; Sergey A. Skuratov, architect ‘Sergey Skuratov Architects‘; Aleksey Uchitel, film director: Kerem Erginoğlu, architect ‘Erginoğlu&Çalışlar Architects‘; Corrado Tibaldi, architect, DuPont Building Innovations; Matthias Hollwich, architect, winner of “Changing the Face” in 2010; Marc Kushner, architect winner of “Changing the Face” in 2010 and Bryan Avery, architect ‘Avery Associates.’

There are currently no comments for this article.

Login to comment. slider