REA reveals shortlist for June’s British Renewable Energy Awards

The creativity and ingenuity of the UK renewables industry ensures there are a wealth of companies and individuals who have achieved something outstanding during 2010. The British Renewable Energy Awards, one of the industry’s most prestigious events, was established to celebrate and recognise these achievements.

The REA is delighted to announce it has received over two hundred nominations, a record amount to date, for this year’s Awards. Forty-nine entrants, across eight categories, have made the shortlist:

Biogen Greenfinch
Bowman Power Group
Didcot Biomethane Project Team
Enecsys Limited
Green Biologics

Beba Energy
Ecovolt Ltd
Photon Energy
The Greener Alternative
W D Taylor Plumbing & Heating

BioRegional Development Group /
Forest Fuels / Gristwood & Toms
Cosmopolitan Housing Group
Ecotricity / Fen Farm Solar

Barfoot Energy
Beech Properties
Humphries Demolition
Mellington Cow Power
Severn Trent Water
Staples Vegetables

Chris Manson-Whitton - Progressive Energy
Ed Matthew - E3G
Godfrey Bevan
Huw Irranca-Davies, MP
John Baldwin - CNG Services
Peter Edwards - Windelectric Management
Virginia Graham - REAL Assurance Scheme

Bournville Village Trust
Community Renewable Energy (CoRE)
Isle of Eigg
Udny Community Wind Turbine Co

Barnsley Council
Birmingham City Council
Cornwall County Council
Milton Keynes Council
The Welsh Assembly Government / EST

Barfoot Energy
Drax Power
East Midlands Airport
Forest Fuels
Sevenoaks Energy Academy

Shortlisted nominees have now been invited to submit a fuller entry. The winners and runners-up will be chosen by a distinguished panel of judges and the Awards will be presented at the glamorous Gala Awards Dinner on 16th June at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers in London.:

Our exciting top panel of judges this year, Chaired by Peter Ainsworth, himself a winner of both the PRASEG and the CIWM Parliamentarian of the Year award in 2009, include:

-TV presenter and geologist, Professor Iain Stewart
-BBC broadcaster, Tom Heap
-Met Office's Head of Climate Change Advice, Dr Vicky Pope
-Guardian Environment Editor, Damian Carrington 
-Environmental campaigner, writer and consultant, Tony Juniper
-Founder of the 10:10 Campaign and film director, Franny Armstrong
-Joint managing partner of novusmodus, Richard Nourse

Commenting on the nominations, Peter Ainsworth said:

"The astonishing variety and record number of entrants for the REA Awards this year tells its own story. Renewable Energy is mainstream, good for the environment, and just plain good business."

There are currently no comments for this article.

Login to comment. slider