Forest of Fabrication events programme

15
Feb
2019
 
1
15
PM

Featuring international projects and designers, the Forest of Fabrication exhibition's associated event programme will showcase the technologies enabling quicker off-site fabrication methods, analyse the commercial argument for cross laminated timber and celebrate the craft and beauty of exposed timber in contemporary architecture.

More information about each events and tickets will be available soon. All events will be taking place at the Building Centre.

Events programme:

Public Tours
Join the architects for a guided tour, highlighting exhibition themes and key projects. The tours will be taking place on the following days;
Friday 15 February, 1.15pm - 1.45pm (registration now open)
Friday 1 March, 1.15pm - 1.45pm
Friday 22 March, 1.15pm - 1.45pm
Friday 5 April, 1.15pm - 1.45pm
Friday 3 May, 1.15pm - 1.45pm

Launch of the 2019 Wood Awards
The Wood Awards launches its open call for outstanding architecture and product design in wood.
Tuesday 12 March, 6.30pm - 8.30pm

Build to Rent Breakfast Event
Conversations around modular solutions for the future
of urban housing.
Thursday 21 March, 8.30am - 11.00am

The Architecture of Maggie’s
Charles Jencks, co-founder of Maggie’s Centres, in conversation with architects Alex de Rijke and Benedetta Tagliabue.
Wednesday 27 March, 6.30pm - 8.00pm

Public Weekend Tour
A tour for all the family, led by the Building Centre events team.
Saturday 30 March, 11.00am - 12.00pm

Re-Imagining Timber Symposium
An afternoon of insight, information and inspiration from renowned international designers and makers, celebrating timber in architecture.
Wednesday 3 April, 2.00pm - 7.00pm

Ensuring Long-term Performance of CLT Breakfast Event
A technical seminar on design requirements and maintenance of CLT buildings.
Tuesday 30 April, 8.30am - 11.00am

Tall Storeys from Scandinavia
Building high with CLT in Sweden and Norway.
Thursday 2 May, 6.30pm - 8.00pm

Business as Usual for CLT
An event examining the impacts of new legislation for tall buildings.
Thursday 9 May, 2.00pm - 6.30pm

Swedish Wood Engineered Timber Stand
Swedish Wood member companies have a range of engineered timber materials including CLT, glulam and i-beams, on display from March. Visit their stand on the lower ground floor of The Building Centre.
Monday 4 March to Friday 17 May

The Forest of Fabrication exhibition and events programme is curated by the Building Centre exhibitions team and dRMM, and supported by The Built Environment Trust.

     

We would like to thank our headline sponsors Timber Trade FederationWood Campus and Wood For Good. Supported by American Hardwood Export CouncilB&K Structures, BinderholzEurbanJames LathamKLH UK,  MartinsonsSödraStora Enso and Wiehag.

Headline sponsors

                  

Supported by